2014 INI Student Award Winners

June 11, 2014

Bookmark and Share

The Information Networking Institute presents awards to a few graduating students each year in recognition of exemplary work during their time in graduate school. The twenty-fourth class of INI graduates (MS24) received their diplomas on May 18 in Pittsburgh with special recognition to the following award winners.

The Outstanding Student Service Award for Teaching Assistant went to a team of four students: Aditya Jaltade, Amod Jaltade, Pratik Shah and Mukul Singh (pictured at bottom with Greg Ganger and Rajeev Gandhi). The winners received an engraved award and monetary prize.

Professors Ganger and Gibson worked with the team of four for the Advanced Storage Systems course. Professor Rajeev Gandhi also nominated Aditya, Amod and Mukul for their assistance with the Fundamentals of Embedded Systems course.

"They gave students a lot of extra help and did it very well by helping them to understand issues or to take a next step forward, without just giving away the solution," said Ganger.

Research Assistant AwardThe Outstanding Student Service Award for Research Assistant went to Douglas Miller (pictured at left with David Brumley), who received an engraved award and a monetary prize. He contributed impressively to a research project for DARPA supervised by Professor David Brumley.

"Over the past semester Doug has produced the first concrete, programmatic semantics for the ARM instruction set. These semantics are the key for performing any program analysis on ARM binary code. …This work required careful research of the ARM instruction set, significant program analysis architecture experience, care, precision, and hard work. Doug certainly deserved the recognition of the research award for his work on this project, and for advancing state-of-the-art in binary analysis on the ARM platform," said Brumley.

The INI Leadership Award went to Allison Boos (pictured at top with Nicolas Christin). This award goes to an INI graduate student who has most noticeably demonstrated initiative, motivation, academic excellence and overall outstanding leadership qualities. This student has demonstrated an ability to balance scholarship with leadership and involvement. The award recipient receives an engraved award and a monetary honorarium.

Allie was nominated by Professors Nicolas Christin and Josh Hammerstein with a supporting letter from students Joe Battaglia, Cody Thomas, and Josh Thiry.

"She has demonstrated a strong work ethic both in and outside of the classroom. Furthermore, the fact that this nomination was initiated and supported by Allie's peers is a testament to the great leadership qualities that she has exhibited while at the INI," said Hammerstein.

EWF INI FellowshipLastly, INI Director Dena Haritos Tsamitis presented Erye Hernandez (pictured at left) with the EWF INI Fellowship Award. Since 2007, the Executive Women's Forum and the INI have awarded this fellowship annually to an exceptionally promising student. The recipient receives a full scholarship and attends the EWF national conference for women in information security, privacy and risk management.

The INI celebrated the Class of 2014 with a reception that included family and friends following the ceremony.

View the INI's Flickr gallery for more photos.

The other nominees for INI student awards are listed below in recognition of their excellent work:

  • Ramya Balaraman (Teaching Assistant Award)
  • Joseph Battaglia (Research Assistant Award)
  • Erye Hernandez (Leadership Award)
  • Qingping "Dave" Hou (Research Assistant Award)
  • Elango Jagadeesan (Teaching Assistant Award)
  • Ashish Kaila (Teaching Assistant Award)
  • Meghna Lav (Leadership Award)
  • Ruchir Patwa (Research Assistant Award)
  • Maneet Singh(Teaching Assistant Award)
  • Devika Nair Syama (Leadership Award)
  • Long Tu (Leadership Award)
  • Oulin "Lynn" Yao (Research Assistant Award)

Teaching Assistant