President Cohon Wins National Engineering Award

March 25, 2011

Carnegie Mellon University President Jared L. Cohon has been named the 2011 recipient of the National Engineering Award from the American Association of Engineering Societies. The award recognizes inspirational leadership and tireless devotion to the improvement of engineering education and to the advancement of the engineering profession.
"I am deeply honored to receive the National Engineering Award, and to join such a distinguished company of past recipients," Cohon said. 
The award, which has been given annually since 1979, also recognizes winners for their work in developing sound public policies. Past winners have included Neil Armstrong, the first man on the moon; Charles Vest, president of the National Academy of Engineering and former president of MIT; government leaders such as former Defense Secretary Harold Brown and former directors of the National Science Foundation; and industrial leaders such as Norm Augustine and Robert Noyce. A complete list of winners is located at

Continue to the Carnegie Mellon press release.