INI and CyLab Host Eighth Information Assurance Capacity Building Program

July 13, 2010

Carnegie Mellon University's Information Networking Institute (INI) and CyLab will host 13 scholars in a program designed to educate tomorrow's information security leaders and faculty.

"Through the Information Assurance Capacity Building Program (IACBP), Carnegie Mellon CyLab and the INI are answering the nation's call for more educational programs in information assurance, while inspiring minority-serving colleges and universities and helping faculty do the same," said Dena Haritos Tsamitis, director of the INI and director of education, training and outreach at Carnegie Mellon CyLab.

This summer, CMU will host seven first-time IACBP participants from July 12 to July 23 to develop cybersecurity curricula. Academic institutions involved in the 2010 program include St. Mary's University in San Antonio, Texas; Norfolk State University in Norfolk, Va.; California State University at San Bernardino; California State University at Long Beach; and Shaw University in Raleigh, N.C.

Since 2002, more than $1.1 million has gone towards the IACBP, which is designed to guide faculty at minority-serving institutions, including Historically Black Colleges and Universities and Hispanic-Serving Institutions, to develop curricula with academic enrichment from the INI and Carnegie Mellon CyLab.

For three days of the program, six returning program participants will discuss how the program has improved individual faculty teaching and project development in the areas of cybersecurity and information technology. The returning participants include computer science and management information systems faculty from Hampton University in Hampton, Va.; the University of the District of Columbia in Washington, D.C.; Norfolk University in Norfolk, Va.; and Bowie State University in Bowie, Md.

Continue to the Carnegie Mellon press release.

Pictured below: Participants in the 2010 Information Assurance Capacity Building Program, from left to right, Jake Zhu, Jonathan Graham, Harold Ramcharan, Antony Coulson, Felicia Doswell and Wenbin Luo.

IACBP 2010