Class of 2009 Award Winners

May 18, 2009

At the annual graduation ceremony, the INI presents awards to exceptional students who have stood out among their classmates. The following graduates were this year's award winners:

Divya Ashok, a teaching assistant, and Ed Schwartz, a research assistant, each received an Outstanding Student Services Award. This award recognizes students who demonstrated exemplary performance and contribution as a teaching or research assistant. The recipients each received an engraved award and a monetary honorarium.

Aditi Pendharkar received the Pradeep K. Khosla Leadership Award, named after the dean of the College of Engineering. This award honors the student who most noticeably demonstrated initiative, motivation, academic excellence and overall outstanding leadership qualities. Aditi received an engraved award and a monetary honorarium.

Ioannis Mallios received the Frank J. Marshall Graduate Fellowship. This monetary award is presented annually to one outstanding MSISTM student. Frank J. Marshall graduated from the Electrical and Computer Engineering program at Carnegie Mellon in 1969.

Honorable mentions went to Siddarth Adukia, Kalpana Chatnani, Sudeep Modi, Pavan Kumar Rao, Karan Sanghi and Zoheb Shivani who will receive letters of commendation.

Dena Haritos Tsamitis, Director of INI, and Dean Khosla presented the awards to the recipients at the INI graduation ceremony on May 16.