Class of 2008 Award Winners

May 30, 2008

The Information Networking Institute (INI) presents awards to each graduating class to recognize the students who excel among their peers and who exemplify the qualities of an INI graduate.

During the May 2008 graduation ceremony, the following students received awards:

Ramu Panayappan, a Teaching Assistant, and Christopher K. Nguyen, a Research Assistant, received the Outstanding Student Services Award. This award recognizes students who demonstrated exemplary performance and contribution as either a Research Assistant or Teaching Assistant. The recipients were each presented with an engraved award and a $500 honorarium.

Tom Palarz received the Frank J. Marshall Graduate Fellowship. This award of $14,500 is presented annually to one outstanding MSISTM student. Frank J. Marshall graduated from Carnegie Mellon’s Electrical and Computer Engineering program in 1969.

Aakash Shah received the Pradeep K. Khosla Leadership Award. This award honors the student who most noticeably demonstrated initiative, motivation, academic excellence, and overall outstanding leadership qualities. Aakash was presented with an engraved award and a $1,000 honorarium.

Dena Haritos Tsamitis, Director of the INI, and Pradeep K. Khosla, Dean of the College of Engineering, presented the awards to the recipients at the INI graduation ceremony.